Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Please Try Something Different

A fresh take on the tired old acronym

Seeing as how well my last video sneak peek went, I figured “WTF else could go wrong?” So here is another unedited segment of the upcoming video interview I did for Authority Magazine, “Five Things you’ll wish you knew before talking with soldiers and veterans.” I will be sharing the full video soon, but until then you should start reading my upcoming book! In exchange for your email address, you can download the first chapter of God is a Grunt and more good news for GIs direct from the publishers.

Download #GruntGod ch.1

My BBF (Battle Buddy Forever), Jeremy Stainthorp-Berggren, deserves the credit for reimagining the PTSD acronym. He is a visual artist and an amazing slam poet, and you should check out the piece he composed that inspired me to use PTSD as the second thing in my video interview. Here is just one incredible excerpt:

She said, you have PTSD

P.ost T.error S.oul D.isorder

P.assively T.imid S.ometimes D.angerous

P.athetically T.rying S.lowly D.ying

P.otentially T.erminal S.piritual D.isease

I mean, what if I said

Fµ¢k your

Stupid cliches, about picking yourself up

Off the god damned ground

Or letting go of the past, or

Wherever you go, there you are

What if I said

You're the disorder

Your greed, your selfishness, your lies

We don’t need diagnoses, we need human connection. So Please, Try Something Different. And while you’re at it, drop Jeremy some love on his Patreon, Post Traumatic Fresh 😉

No photo description available.

I have exciting news to share: You can now read The ☧ost in the new Substack app for iPhone.

Read The ☧ost in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

With the app, you’ll have a dedicated Inbox for my Substack and any others you subscribe to. New posts will never get lost in your email filters, or stuck in spam. Longer posts will never cut-off by your email app. Comments and rich media will all work seamlessly. Overall, it’s a big upgrade to the reading experience.

The Substack app is currently available for iOS. If you don’t have an Apple device, you can join the Android waitlist here.

0 Comments
The ☧ost
The ☧ost
Authors
Logan M. Isaac, HoSM